A jewel among historic hotels in Washington, DC, discover the history of our luxury hotel.
In 1923, Washington, DC, welcomed a new luxury residential building four blocks north of the White House: The Jefferson Apartments. The beautiful Beaux Arts design by architect Jules Henri de Sibour was the first building erected on 16th St. between Lafayette Square and Scott Circle. The apartment building was converted into a hotel in 1955 and quickly became the address of choice for discerning travelers.
The combined creative talents of some of the world’s finest architectural, design, and construction firms brought the venerable landmark into the 21st century with a two-year top to bottom renovation, infusing modern day elegance and convenience into the stately Beaux Arts structure. The result is both distinctly European and Washingtonian, featuring historical influences. In 2009, The Jefferson reemerged as a luxury hotel in the nation’s capital with exceptional, personalized service.
One of the most exciting discoveries during the renovation was the recovery of a magnificent skylight in the lobby, which had been covered since World War II. Part of Sibour’s original design, it once again allows natural light to stream into our restaurant, The Greenhouse. Other innovations include a state-of-the-art kitchen, two sumptuously appointed specialty suites, and upgrades to all 99 guest rooms, the common areas, meeting spaces and restaurants.
Today, guests enjoy The Jefferson’s unique collection of antique furnishings, curated art and a noteworthy collection of books.
We look forward to welcoming you to The Jefferson and to Washington, DC.